Simmons University, Abilene, Texas Cowboy Band 1927-28

Simmons University, Abilene, Texas Cowboy Band 1927-28

Simmons University Cowboy Band 1927-28

Simmons University, now Hardin Simmons University, Abilene, Texas.

Band Members:

D. O. Wiley, Director; Y. P. Kuhn, Drum Major; G. B. Sandefer, Manager; Frank R. Rainwater, Asst. Director; Byron Pollock, Publicity Manager; Wayland Cox, Secretary

Cornets - Roy Reeves, Byron Kidwell, J. W. Thomas, Roy Weatherby, Richard Walker, Emmett Howard, E. V. Lancaster, John A. Hutchison, Ray Fesmire, Jack Roberts, Frank Homesley

Trombones - Robert Tietze, Wallace Wimberly, Claude Wilson, Cleo Hazel, Alden Sanders

Clarinets - H. A. Anderson, Ray Sims, Elmo Lowe, Clyde Rowe, Robert Malone, T. A. Smith, Francis Fry, Charles Bailey, Paul Hilsman, Wayland Cox, DeWitt Black, Adrian Crumpler, William Bartlett, Harold Owen

Percussion - Otha Hillyard, Harry Hayes, Myron Corbin, Estell Patterson

Flute - William Corder

Horns - Moody Logan, Hines Sims, Frances Stultz, Cleve Blackyard, Harold Voss

Saxophones - Bob Whipkey, Elmer Spears, Charles Logsdon, Joe McCluskey, Howard Farmer, Louis Bailey, Elie Lam

Basses - R. E. Simpson, Ray Garrett

Baritones - Knox Kelly, Opie Clark, Charles Dyer

Photo from the 1928 Bronco, yearbook of Simmons University, Abilene, Texas.


See More Photos

Make the Photo Larger

 Click on Town, County, Surname or any of the tags to see more

Click on the word "original" above and a window will open with a the photo in a larger size. 

 Add Information 

 Want to add some information or comment on this photo?  Click on "Add new comment" above.